Squash Galette

I feel very uncreative when it comes to summer squash, which is my own hang-up, I know. We’re only about three weeks into the squash deluge, and I’m already running low on ideas. So I was especially happy to see that Smitten Kitchen just posted a GORGEOUS Squash Galette, and decided to try it this week.

I made the recipe basically as written with only one change – I added shredded arugula to the top after baking for a little extra something and also (really) because I had some hanging around.

The crust is perfection. It is a bit labor intensive relative to what I usually make, but perfectly possible for a weekend.  I did not roll mine out quite thin enough, and so it looks less full around the edges than the Smitten Kitchen version, but was still well beyond adequate for the purposes of eating. This recipe is special, and I know I will pull it out again.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in arugula, summer squash. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Squash Galette

  1. Scrumptious says:

    The galette looks wonderful and your pictures are beautiful! I know what you mean about squash overload. I have a go-to recipe for zucchini and other long-form squashes that you might enjoy. It makes a super easy and delicious side-dish and then tastes great cold and sliced into salads, etc. It's called Taverna Zucchini: http://inmybox.wordpress.com/2008/07/01/zucchini/

  2. Hi Christiana,I too made the galette yesterday. Both C and I thought it was fantastic. I enjoy checking your blog every once in a while as it gives me an update on your life. Here is a summer squash recipe, Corey and I made a million times last year. We simply tripled, quadrupled, … gazillion-dupled the ingredients, when my zucchini plant started to go crazy. We loved it: 3 T olive oil3 garlic cloves, chopped2 lb zucchini, finely sliced (we usually shredded it)Heat oil; add garlic and zucs, salt. Cook zucs gently on slow sizzle so that they soften w/o browning. Continue cooking, stirring frequently, until they are concentrated and oil but not at all watery. Then stir in a couple of T cream and at least 1/3 c freshly grated parmesan. Allow to bubble for just a min. Serve with parmesan.I think I remember that we'd put way more cream in than a couple T. It's from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall's "The River Cottage Cookbook". – a great way to use up tons of summer squash.

  3. Ooops. Serve with pasta. I'm sure you figured that. But just in case.

  4. Scrumptious – Looks great! I can't wait to try it. I know that I'll have another couple of months to get through, so there will be many opportunities for experimenting.Doris – thanks for sharing! I clearly remember your mounds of zucchini (and also how grateful people were to get some). This looks easy and right up our alley. Also, Corey's shirt about squash makes more sense to me now…

Leave a Reply

