The Share

Today was one of those truly “one-step-forward-two-steps-back” parenting days. I got drawer organizers and managed to make my bathroom look like this:

And during the span of time that it took me to accomplish this remarkable feat of organization, my kids made my kitchen look like this:

“It’s snowing!”

Yes, that’s styrofoam. Makes me wish that we still had a shop vac. Notice how the static electricity ensures that the little beads stick to the cabinets? Nice.

In other food-related news, we continue to get ginormous vegetables.  Honestly, I can’t even figure this one out. Back in Indiana at the farmer’s market, we used to get pattypan squash in strawberry baskets, like 5 or 6 to a basket. They were delicious, and I used to batter them and fry them up. This week, we all got at least one of these:

I’m continuing with the very popular food-on-my-head theme, just to demonstrate the jaw-droppingly giant size of this guy. This is the larger of the two.

The Haul:
Lettuce x3 (I immediately gave one of my lettuces away, as three giant heads of lettuce is two more than I really need)
Chard
Arugula (a smallish bunch)
Basil
Parsley
Beets
Turnips
Leek
Squash (2 pattypan and two yellow)
A bag of assorted tomatoes and a few apricots
Snapdragons

The Plan:
Grill the romaine
Chocolate zucchini bread
Squash Galette
Leek Bread Pudding (al la Ad Hoc at home)
Pesto
Some sort of enchilada lasagna dealio with the chard and turnips

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

