Swiss Chard with a side of Swiss Chard

A friend of mine recently turned me on to a couple of swiss chard recipes that were in cookbooks I already own.  One is called Chard Utopia, which I immediately snarkily renamed Chard Dystopia, because it was asking for it, and that’s basically how I feel about chard these days. The recipe is a simple spanakopita re-engineered to accommodate chard (and found in Simply in Season).

The other recipe was from The Silver Spoon, and calls for only the chard stems. I found this to be genius, but nobody else I shared it with understood why you would ever have left over stems, when it’s so easy just to throw them in with the leaves. In my cooking, I find a lot of recipes that call for only the leaves because, I believe, I am pulling a lot of vegetarian recipes where the chard appears as the main dish. If you’re just dealing with a simple chard side, sure throw in the stems, who cares.  But if you are crafting a main, textures matter a lot more, and the stems don’t always match what the recipe is trying to do.  My point is that I always have the stems hanging around, and frequently they get dumped in the compost for want of a better plan.

Now I no longer have to feel guilty about my compost, because the stem recipe incorporates two of my favorite things – hidden anchovies (yum!), and parmesan.  The results are bizarrely wonderful – rich and deeply flavorful, and eminently repeatable.

Stems from 2 bunches Chard, sliced into 2″ lengths
2 anchovy fillets
EVOO
1/2 C grated Parmesan

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil, and add the stems. Cook for 10 minutes or until soft.  In a large saute pan, heat the evoo, and dissolve the anchovies in the oil. Add the stems and saute until nicely browned about 5 minutes more. Top with Parmesan and serve.

For Chard Dystopia, visit here.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Swiss Chard with a side of Swiss Chard

  1. Scrumptious says:

    Wow. This is like Umami Chard with Umami Sauce and a Sprinkle of Umami. Damn! I will have to ponder if there's a way to veganize this recipe. It's always tough when the recipe has 4 ingredients and 2 aren't vegan. But I like this concept too much – I'll figure something out!

Leave a Reply

