The Share

Last week was not a great one for me for cooking.  I had a brilliant idea to roast all my garlic and blend it with butter and make giant grilled zucchini sandwiches using the garlic butter as a spread.  Then I forgot to take pictures of any of it, and felt considerably less like a genius.  Most of the rest of the week was me using up the veggies either raw in salads, or as very basic side dishes.  Not much to report.

This week will be different.

The Haul:
Lettuce x 2
Kale
Chard
Basil
Parsley
Beets
Fennel
Zucchini
Oranges
Squash Blossoms
Nasturtium
Sunflowers

I confess that I left my sunflowers behind this week.  They are lovely, but when they can no longer sit at the table nicely, I compost them, and our composter is getting rather full thanks to these mammoth flowers. Meanwhile, the lettuce is killing me.  It’s so much, and I need a break from salads.  I may decide to wear it.

The Plan:
Zucchini and Squash Blossom Frittata with grilled romaine
Chard Utopia
Chard stems with anchovies
Beet and Potato salad – maybe parsley oil as a dressing?
Pickled Beets
Caramelized Fennel
And probably about a zillion more salads

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Share

Leave a Reply

