Beet and Potato Salad with Parsley Oil

This week I couldn’t get excited about receiving our first shares of parsley.  I don’t love parsley.  It’s fine and all, but really, it’s parsley.  There’s not much there to love.

Since I had no plans to make pasta this week (no tomatoes), I decided to throw the parsley into my favorite go-to greens application – blended in a food processor with some other stuff, and served as a sauce.  I looked at several sauce recipes, and all wanted you to cook the parsley before blending, but this sounded too cumbersome to me.  I think my application is easier, and also allows greater flexibility for flavoring the sauce.

I served this over roasted beets and potatoes, and it was surprisingly excellent. The parsley really added a subtle complexity to the dish. I will definitely make it again!

1 C parsley
1/4 C olive oil
2 T butter
1 tsp dijon
salt and pepper to taste

(NB: Had I been thinking, I would have added some of my green garlic to this list.  I think it would be better with a bit, but don’t know. Also, I chose to make this sauce fairly loose and add butter because it was going over potatoes. To use it for a salad, stick with oil only, just add a bit extra when it hits the sauce pan.)

In a food processor, blend parsley and oil.  Add mix to a small sauce pan and heat over medium.  Melt in butter and dijon, then season with salt and pepper. Sauce is done when the parsley has lost some of its crunchy raw-ness.

Serve with potatoes, over fish, over roast vegetables, or on salads.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in beets, parsley, potato. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

