Anniversary Dinner

Last weekend, Sam and I celebrated 12 years of marriage.  Unfortunately, we couldn’t really celebrate much because I was working all day and into the night of our actual anniversary day.  So we settled for a nice meal at home the following Monday.  Of course there is no food adequately wonderful enough to celebrate the joys that I have enjoyed with Sam over the last 12 years, but I thought scallops would come close. 

For years I avoided eating scallops because it was impossible to find ones I liked.  Today however, every time I drive home from work, I pass a little shop where I can nab dry bay and diver scallops pretty much every day.  So I shelled out the $20 for a pound of GORGEOUS diver scallops and took them home, terrified that I would ruin them.  Fortunately, there is a dead simple recipe for perfect scallops, courtesy of Ad Hoc at Home by Thomas Keller.  It goes like this:  Cook scallops with a bit of clarified butter in a screaming hot pan for 3 minutes per side.  I served them with butter and lemon, and nothing else.  The meat is so wonderfully delicate that nothing else was needed. 

I also finally made kale chips, which are also dead simple.  With their slightly briny flavor, they were the perfect accompaniment to the scallops.  You can make them a number of ways, but I went for low and slow – roast kale for 30 minutes at 250. Sam made some carrots with rosemary and garlic, and the whole meal was exactly right.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

