The Share

The Festival was wonderful.  I’ve often said that our Festival weekend is like summer camp for serious modern music lovers – there are so many people I get to see year after year, and they are always delightful.  Of course the music was delicious too.

One of the highlights of the weekend was a fabulous picnic coordinated by my friend J with the assistance of our farmer and his mentor.  Easily the best picnic EVER.  J made fried chicken from Ad Hoc at Home, which is just superlative.  Since then, I made Thomas Keller’s recipe for diver scallops (anniversary dinner), and I am now thoroughly convinced that I need his books in my library.
I barely remembered to pick up the share this week, but thankfully managed to jog my own memory by wondering what the hell I would make for dinner that night…
The Haul:
Lettuce x2
Chard
Kale
Basil
Fennel x2
Beets
Garlic
Zucchini
Sunflowers

The Plan:
I’m feeling especially uninspired, and really ridiculously tired, so planning isn’t so hot right now.  Some friends are coming to dinner Sunday, so I plan to make a big CSA pie, and not much else.  I may pickle the beets, if I don’t just give up and throw them into a salad.  Maybe we’ll grill the zucchini and fennel.  And I’m considering making a roast garlic spread for sandwiches.  Regardless, this one doesn’t seem especially hard to work with.  Perhaps I’ll get some challenges next week.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

