The Share

So while this is automatically posting, I am running the Ojai Festival Box Office.  Friends in So Cal, come see me.  We still have great programs that you can get into featuring some of the most fascinating contemporary avant garde music written today.  Also, I run the friendliest and most efficient Box Office you can imagine, which is worth a visit in and of itself.

OK, back to food.

I know that I often say that things “defy description,” largely because I’m too lazy to describe them.  In this case, it’s really true though.  We got the biggest chard ever this week.  Imagine the biggest piece of chard you have ever seen, and triple that.  That’s what we got.  State-fair-prize-winning gigantic leaf chard.  Here’s a picture, with an egg for perspective.  I thought of holding it up in front of my face, but those pictures didn’t turn out well.

The Haul:
Lettuce 2
Chard
Kale makes a resurgence
Radicchio returns too!
Rutabaga – more hoorays!
Beets
Carrots
Leeks
Green Garlic
Zucchini (3)
2 tiny inexplicable broccoli (perhaps they are compensating for the overwhelming chard?)
Basil
Sunflowers

The Plan:
Gosh, I wish I had one.  My best idea is to see what Sam uses while I’m staying up in Ojai working at the Festival, and to host a big dinner party next week to work through whatever is left.  Maybe we’ll give a few things away.  Most of it will keep for a while, so we might just have a very full next week!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

