Nantes Carrots with Harissa and Other Things

Truth is that I made this last week.  My husband and a friend were going to a potluck at a place called the Abundant Table, and rather than wait and let him ask me for something complicated to bring, I made this preemptively.  The recipe was given to me from my friend J, who invariably sends me excellent recipes.

When I started, I really thought that I had enough food to make it work for a crowd.  But then when I looked in the pantry, I was out of the requisite black olives.  And also the cooked carrots seemed a bit small.  So I added roasted beets, and it was better, but still not quite abundant enough.  So then I spread it over lettuce.  And added pine nuts.  And finally, the dish I sent with Sam was only minimally like the recipe I started with.  This happens regularly in my kitchen.

Here’s what I actually made:

Carrot Harissa Salad

1 medium bunch carrots – if you have Nantes, good for you, otherwise pretty much any carrot will do
4 medium beets, roasted and cut into dice
1/4 lb feta
about 1 tsp harissa – Mahjoub if you can find it
2 tsp olive oil
1/4 C water
salt to taste
lettuce
pine nuts

Cut carrots into thin circles and cook in boiling water for 3 – 5 minutes.  Run under cold water to stop the cooking.  In a bowl, mix carrots, beets, and crumbled feta.  Set aside.

In a small bowl, mix harissa, oil, and water, and start to pour over the veggies.  Be a little careful here.  The harissa is hot, and you will want to gauge your tolerance for heat as you go.  I ended up using less than the total mix I had made, because I’m not as deeply into spicy foods as some.  You may love it as written though.

Chop lettuce and place in a large flat bowl.  Spoon carrot mix over the lettuce and top with a handful of pine nuts.

And here is the original recipe.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in carrot. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

