More Octo-Vinaigrette Deliciousness

After falling in love with David Chang’s Octo-Vinaigrette at J’s house, I had a stroke of genius – this was the way to get the chard down!  The strong chard could easily stand up the the vin, and with some shrimp and noodles, it would make a perfect whole meal.

I had gotten a quick lesson on knife skills when eating with J, who spent several years as a line chef in some pretty happening restaurants while in college, and had plenty to teach me about how to chop things.  Sadly, I’m still abysmal, a problem I blame mostly on my poor depth perception.  I figure that chopping things too big prevents injury.  Despite this, I did decide to follow the recipe exactly and chop the ginger.  I loved the vin so much the first time that I couldn’t see my way clear to mucking around with it.

Apparently I’m incapable of not mucking around with recipes though, because I only had green garlic, and none of the chiles he called for.  For the chile, I added a dash of chile garlic sauce, and didn’t notice much difference.  Also, it was garlic-y enough for my taste with the green garlic.

There’s nothing fancy in this concept – it totally works for a weeknight meal.

Boil Chinese noodles according to package directions.  Blanch chard.  Heat shrimp until pink.  Serve in a big pile with plenty of Octo-Vinaigrette (see below).

Octo Vinaigrette

2 Tbs finely chopped ginger
2 Tbs chopped garlic
1/4 C rice vinegar
1/4 C light soy sauce
2 Tbs neutral oil
1/4 tsb sesame oil
1 1/2 Tbs sugar
some sort of chile (I heartily recommend a pinch of that ubiquitous Vietnamese red chile-garlic sauce)

Mix vigorously.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Octo-Vinaigrette Deliciousness

  1. Pingback: Greens as Base/Side | The Harmonious Kitchen

Leave a Reply

