Rutabaga Fiesta

People, I’m bringing rutabaga back.  Have you had a rutabaga lately?  Ok, have you ever had a rutabaga?  I love them, and have entirely too few in my diet.  This is clearly because not enough people are writing recipes for the lovely, lonely rutabaga.  This has to change.  I’m mounting a rutabaga awareness campaign, starting today.

If you’ve never had rutabaga before, the flesh is somewhere between a potato and he most delicious thing you have ever eaten in your life.  Yes, they are that good.  The following recipe introduces you slowly, with lots of spice and fat and starchy yumminess.

Foodie friends, please try to ignore the midwest casserole feel of this dish.  It tastes way better than it seems like it should.

This was made for me by my awesome neighbor Eric.  The following recipe is replicated exactly as he sent it to me.  FWIW, it translates nicely to a 9×9 inch pan if you decide to halve it.

  1. peel, then halve, then par-cook two large rutabagas like you would potatoes for an au gratin — boil, then just before they get mushy, take out, cool, and cut into 1/8” slices.
  2. halve then slice then caramelize two large yellow onions
  3. get some roasted red peppers, like 1.5-2.0 cups worth, or those canned roasted green chilies, then cut in half lengthwise so you can layer them as filets later
  4. sauté up a big bunch of some greens (chard, beet greens, kale, spinach, Ralph Nader acolytes, etc.) in olive oil
  5. grate about a pound of sharp cheddar queso
  6. get about 15-18 good corn tortillas, taco-size
  7. grab some enchilada sauce (2 cans worth? Or one big can, I think)
  8. grease a lasagna pan with butter (olive oil works too)
  9. pour and spread a thin layer of enchilada sauce in bottom of pan
  10. drape tortillas in enchilada sauce on both sides, layer in pan, cutting some in halves and quarters to fill in gaps between rounds
  11. layer rutabaga slices and carmelized onions over tortillas & sauce, top with a thin layer of cheddar, then drizzle enchilada sauce over the layer
  12. repeat with an additional layer of draped/sauced tortillas, then put the chilies and cheese down, then drizzle with enchilada sauce
  13. repeat with an additional layer of draped/sauced tortillas, then put the greens and cheese down, then drizzle with enchilada sauce
  14. then top with one additional layer of tortillas, then cheese, then drizzle; maybe put sliced black olives all over the top if you dig those
  15. bake at 350 for like, I dunno, 30-40 mins, until it’s all baked and bubbly and the edges are browning
  16. serve with a nice neighbor’s homebrew or margaritas, lime wedges, spanish rice, refried beans, while wearing a tutu, faux moose horns, and elf shoes with the curly toes; the dish will taste like shit if you don’t follow this last part of the recipe
About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in rutabaga. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rutabaga Fiesta

  1. Jet says:

    I'll join you in the crusade. Were it not for your insistence, I would never have tried rutabagas and very likely would have been hung up on the "midwest casserole feel of this dish". I would have been wrong, but proudly so. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dish. THANKS! Also, now I serve everything in a tutu, moose horns and elf shoes.

  2. Joel says:

    Rutabagas are wonderful, prepared many ways. This take sounds great – I'll be testing it on my kids, and my dad (who loves rutabagas).Now, let's see something for the even more lonely kohlrabi. We eat it raw all summer long, but I'm guessing most of the others reading this don't touch the stuff.

  3. Joel says:

    Just looked, bunches of interesting looking Kohlrabi recipes out there. But I digress, I shouldn't be bringing Kohlrabi to a Rutabaga fiesta.

  4. Joel, we've yet to see the kohlrabi, though I'm told it's coming soon-ish. I admit to my own ignorance here. It wasn't in my last CSA ever, and I expect to encounter it first in the current one. Nice to know it can be eaten raw!I really believe that rutabaga is seriously under appreciated, and hope to change that. Singlehandedly.

Leave a Reply

