Arugula Flowers

Up until this week, I had no idea that edible flowers had any place in the vegetable world as things that someone might actually want.  Today I know better.  Arugula flowers, but more especially arugula pods, are lovely morsels indeed.  I love them almost as much as I love arugula, which is very very much.

(Oh, and anyone wanting to challenge me on the whole edible flowers deal by bringing up broccoli or cauliflower should feel free to just keep it to themselves.  I know that they are technically flowers, but they aren’t really in the edible flower category IMO.  I’m standing firm on this one.)

I wanted to do something that would showcase the arugula in all its weird deliciousness.  So I used it in two ways – as a salad topper with fennel and lettuce, and on an open faced goat cheese sandwich.  Both recipes defy description.  For the sandwich, put some turkey on bread, and top with goat cheese and flowers.  Serve.  For the salad, mix fennel, arugula blossoms and pods, and serve with a drizzle of oil.

I expected to love the sandwich and like the salad, because what could be wrong with goat cheese and arugula?  However, the combo of fennel with pods was especially surprising and wonderful.  I’m planning to do it again.  Alternately, I might make big sandwiches with roasted fennel and loads of flowers and pods and goat cheese, and pair it with a simple green salad.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in arugula flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

