The Share

To be honest, I always took a pretty dim view of flowers in the share.  That changed today.  We got Arugula flowers in our boxes, and they are incredible.  The flowers are a lovely soft and nutty flavor, and the pods have this sharp pepper bite.  I am already so excited to use them!  We got some other stuff too…

The Haul:
Lettuce (God help me)
Swiss Chard
Basil
Arugula flowers
Turnips + greens
Beets
Carrots
Fennel
Green garlic
Spring onions

The Plan:
Salad with fennel and arugula flowers + open faced goat cheese sandwiches with same
Shrimp and chard with Octo-vin over Chinese noodles
Carrot bread (maybe finally I’ll find the time to do this)
Some sort of Italian casserole to use up the onion and basil
Turnip side dish – can’t decide exactly what yet
Beets get roasted and frozen in preparation for beet cake
Giant salad for Memorial Day BBQ with the neighbors

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Share

  1. Scrumptious says:

    I am so jealous of your arugula flowers! I think I have serious box envy in general. Although I would cry if I had to deal with that many turnips. (Although I kind of miss them now that we've finally run out of turnip pickles.)

Leave a Reply

