Fixing Revolting Lettuce Soup

OK, it wasn’t really that bad. And frankly, it must have been some sort of ridiculous cooking hubris that made me even attempt recipe-less lettuce soup in the first place.  Lettuce soup sounds sick and wrong, and although I have had some friends report success with the concept, they were all following well defined recipes.

I decided to make my lettuce soup a garbage soup.  I had a potato, an apple, and most of a fennel hanging around, and I threw them all in with the lettuce to see what happened.  I can assure you it was not good.  So really, my recipe was everything listed above, plus broth, cook, blend and done.  When I tasted it for seasoning, it was just shy of being a disaster.  It was bitter and swampy, with a distinct lemony pucker.

Things that could have made it better would have been a good deal of onion, nicely caramelized as the base.  Also helpful would have been some basil or cups of mint.  As I was totally out of onion at that point, and didn’t feel like blending it again with herbs, I opted for my standard approach – fat, salt, sugar, and white wine in various combinations have never let me down.

I knew that I wanted to mix it with plain yogurt, so I skipped heaping on the butter.  I dumped in 1 Tbs sugar and a good deal of salt and pepper and it improved instantly.  Back in the pot with some white wine, and it was almost good.  Even after I added the yogurt though, it still had a distinctly lemony aftertaste.  Not bad, and Sam liked it well enough, but I had already thoroughly grossed myself out with the soup.

Finally, I resorted to my ultimate fix-it strategy: serve it as a side dish rather than the main.  I served the soup as an accompaniment to grilled sandwiches.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in don't try this at home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

