Clams Cooked in Bacon Dashi in the Dark

As I mentioned in the previous post, Sam took the kids and headed up to San Jose to see his family for the weekend.  This meant that I had a unique opportunity to have dinner with friends. I planned a whole food-centered day with J, culminating with two Momofuku recipes that I would probably never make if there weren’t a special occasion (though J most certainly would) – Clams Cooked in Bacon Dashi, and Octo-Vinaigrette.

About 15 minutes after we got back to J’s place, the power went out.  J informed me that this happened fairly regularly where she lived, and that it usually came right back on.  This time, however, it stayed out for hours.  We made it work with a headlamp and some candles.

This is J, cooking bacon dashi by headlamp.

J, helpfully illuminating the clams for my photo.

There are few things I love eating as much as clams, so I truly expected to adore the Clams above all else and think that the grilled meat with octo-vin was excellent.  In fact, the reverse happened.  The clams were incredible, no doubt.  The ocean-y, fatty, salty, sweet flavors combining were sublime.  However, the octo-vinaigrette changed my life.  I want it every day.  I want to eat more meat so that I have more things to put it on.  It is AMAZING, and relatively simple for a Chang recipe.

Verdict?  Buy the book and make them both!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in eating out. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

