The Share

This week’s share was less exciting than last week, which proves nothing except that even truly amazing farmers have unexpected variables to contend with.

My whole family is going away for a long weekend to visit cousins, so I have four fewer dinners to prepare than usual.  I had originally planned to give much of the share away, but given what came, I’m not sure that’s even necessary.

The Haul:
Lettuce (a truly overwhelming amount)
Carrots (also tons)
Chard (which I am totally giving away)
Fennel (1 huge bulb)
Beets
Spring Onions
Leeks
Basil (probs also a giveaway)
Dill
Sunflower (not so much for eating, I’m guessing)

The Plan:
Lettuce Soup (I’ve been avoiding this because it sounds like it should be truly revolting, but holy crap have we got lettuce, and some sauteed fennel will probably make it even better)
Carrot Soup (maybe with coconut milk, because the last one was so good)
Beets will get roasted and ground up and frozen to wait for when they will go into beet cake

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Share

  1. Scrumptious says:

    Ooh I wish you could give that chard away to me! Yum! I'm so curious about your lettuce soup. I, too, often get swamped with lettuce. Please let us know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

