Crack Pie

I am fascinated by rock star chef David Chang.  I can’t help it.  His mix of experimentation and utter orthodoxy makes his recipes, and the projects that have spun off from his recipes continual sources of delight.  So when I discovered a recipe for Crack Pie on the tubes, I knew that I would have to make it at some point.

Why at some point?  In the interest of better health, I have sworn off sugar for a couple of months.  Generally, I’m doing pretty well with this resolution, with a few exceptions like going out to eat for Mother’s Day.  In part my success is due to the looseness of my restrictions – I’ve only sworn off things that can be categorized as dessert.  Sugar in peanut butter or breakfast bread I don’t worry about so much.  But Crack Pie was definitely off the list.

And then the other night Sam asked me to make a dessert to bring to friends the next day.  The only think I could think of to make that we actually had all the ingredients for was Crack Pie.

The recipe as written makes 2 pies, which is one pie more than you really need, IMO.  I think it’s written like this because trying to half it means that you have instructions like 2 Tbs + 1 1/2 tsp milk powder, and 1/16 tsp baking soda, which is just too much of a pain to write into a recipe, let alone actually figure out how to accomplish.  (I’m sure that at Milk Bar, they do these all by weights, which is a bazillion times more accurate, and I kinda wish they had just written the recipe that way.)  Still, I would take the time to convert this to a single pie, because wow it is a lot of sweet to have hanging around.  A single pie serves six.

The recipe calls for you to bake a cookie, then crush the cookie into a crust, then fill the pie with a sort of a chess.  So, like all good Chang recipes, it’s a bit involved.  Despite this, it comes together rather quickly, and having a dishwasher makes it pretty painless.

Reviews from the web have been amazingly euphoric.  When I served it, it was a bit more mixed.  M raved about it, ate two full pieces in about 1.5 seconds, and I’m pretty sure could have kept going.  My toddler (who eats EVERYTHING) put it in his mouth, spit it out, then scraped off his tongue.  I thought it was great, but nothing I’m going to crave.  I’d make beet cake instead.

My only tip?  Use good salt.

Find the recipe here
And with lovely pictures here

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in just a ton of sugar. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crack Pie

  1. Jet says:

    Personally, I am so in love with the brilliance and thoughtfulness of all things Chang and Tosi, that I "fell hard" for the crack pie. That said, it was ultimately just a big sugar rush, followed by a big sugar crash, in the form of a pie that looked like a crack pipe, with a name that sounds like crack pipe, that tasted a lot better than a Red Bull, which has none of the clever cocaine references. It's great, but it is too much like dunking oatmeal cookies in sweetened condensed milk to live up to it's BRILLIANT provenance, name and presentation.

  2. J – HILARIOUS! Frankly, I'm with you. THe oatmeal cookie/condensed milk combo is right on. Too much sugar and not enough other flavor for my taste, though still pretty special.

Leave a Reply

