Curried Parsnip Soup

This soup satisfies something deep in my soul in a way that I can’t quite explain.  I couldn’t get enough of it.  Also, it was extremely popular with at least half the people I have given birth to.

Of course, when you are starting out with ingredients like these, it’s hard to go too far wrong.

As written, this recipe serves 2 adults and 2 children under 5 with enough left over for the baby to have another meal.  The recipe is a bit loose, but this is pretty indicative of how I typically cook from the share – I try to use all of a vegetable in any recipe, so I end up modifying on the fly.

Curried Parsnip Soup

1 bunch parsnips
equal amount carrots
3 spring onions, white and light green parts only (save the greens for a pizza or some such)
veggie stock
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 C yoghurt

In a stock pot, saute onion in EVOO until soft and sweet.  Meanwhile, clean and cut up the carrots and parsnips.  Add veggies to the pot and enough stock to cover.  Add cumin.  Simmer all until veggies are soft.  Blend soup.  Let cool.  When cool, stir in yoghurt.  Serve at room temperature.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in carrot, parsnip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

