Technicolored Lasagna

When I was looking for beet recipes for the farm blog, I unearthed one that uses roasted beets as filling for ravioli.  If I could easily get my hands on fresh sheets of pasta, I would make this recipe every week.  But unlike the fellow in the original link, I don’t have a source for pre-made ravioli sheets all perfectly thin and  rectangular, and ready for my most ambitious fillings.

Then my friend J scored some fresh pasta, but it was rolled out for lasagna thickness. So rather than trying to flatten the noodles further (sans dedicated equipment), I opted to work with the noodles as they were.  The results are a bit more messy-looking, but it really tasted fantastic.

This makes me wish I could get my hands on fresh pasta sheets more often though.  CSA share as ravioli would be an excellent addition to the recipe rotation.  I like the idea so much that I may just have to try it with wonton wrappers.

Beet and Chard Lasagna

For Ricotta
5 small to medium beets, roasted
1/2 C ricotta
1/8 preserved lemon or zest of 1/2 lemon
salt and pepper

For the rest
1 bunch swiss chard
6 – 8 lasagna noodles
1/2 C grated Parmesan

Pulse beets, ricotta, lemon and salt and pepper in a food processor until smooth.  Saute chard in a little oil until soft.  Boil noodles until soft.  Layer lasagna into a 9×9 pan, starting with noodles and topping with ricotta and then chard, and ending with a layer of ricotta.  Top with grated Parmesan.  Add 2 Tbs water to the lasagna to keep moist.  When ready to eat, bake for 15 mins at 400, just to heat through.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in beets, swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Technicolored Lasagna

  1. Scrumptious says:

    Holy cow this looks amazing I must make it immediately. I was supposed to get beets this week in my box but my CSA left them out by mistake. Maybe there will be some at the farmer's market on Wednesday…

  2. Hi! Welcome back! Beets in CSA shares are ubiquitous, right? I can count on two hands the number of times we've been sans beets in a weekly pick-up.It was excellent, though the leftovers left something to be desired, I thought. Fortunately, I was using a 9×9 pan (wow, I need to put that in the recipe right now), so very little remained. But heads up on that one.

Leave a Reply

