The Share

I was too efficient last week, and actually finished the share before the end of the week.  In part this was because my vegetable-loving mom was visiting and was all too eager to help us eat our way through the share, and in part it was because of the meat pie.  I’m not sure why I’m still calling it meat pie, because it could more accurately be called CSA pie.  I used all the chard, carrots, fennel, and leeks in the pie, and only two sausages for 8 servings.  So I think I’ll be switching the name.

I was given a heavenly tub of burrata, and couldn’t eat it all in my first go, so I had a plan to put the remainder on a pizza with leeks and radicchio.  In observance of the CSA rule that all advance plans will be thwarted, here’s what I got:

The Haul:
Lettuce (3)
Swiss Chard (lovely elegant stuff)
Leeks
Spring Onions
Carrots
Parsnips
Turnips (1 lonely one)
Rutabagas (and I am excited about these!)
Beets
Broccoli
Dill
Cilantro

The Plan:
Leek and Kale pizza (the kale was from the farmer’s market)
Beet and Chard Lasagna
Curried Parsnip (and carrot) Soup (topped w/Cilantro)
Rutabaga mash and some grilled meat
Carrot bread (or muffins)

I still have nothing to do with the dill.  Broccoli will become a side dish.  Onions probably flavor the soup. No clue for the turnips yet…

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

