Beet Bread

I struggle a bit with what to serve the kids for breakfast.  Pretty much everything packaged is loaded with sugar, and there are few things that are not packaged that I can find the time to serve.  My solution to this dilemma is to make my own quick breads.  I make them with whole wheat flour, nuts, and fresh vegetables or fruits, and the results are healthy and delicious.

This week, I decided to try breakfast bread with beets.  I had a couple of turnips left too, so I threw those in as well.  The results are lovely – earthy, slightly sweet, and crunchy.  Also, it’s one of the few breakfasts I’ve had that truly holds me through to lunch.  Convincing the kids to eat it was easy-peasy, or would have been if the other moms at the daycare did not send their kids to school with cheese puffs for breakfast.  Took some coaxing, but the boy ate it gamely.

It looks like this because I tried to do something fancy with whipped egg whites, but you should not do that, and instead follow the recipe as written.

Beet Bread
3 eggs
1 1/2 C sugar
1 C oil
1 C flour
1 C whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 C shredded beets
1/3 C chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease a 9×5 loaf pan.  In a large bowl, beat eggs, oil and sugar.  Mix in flours, salt and baking powder.  Add beets and walnuts and mix.  Pour batter into loaf pan, and bake for 60 – 70 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in beets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

