Bok Choi Pizza with Ginger Scallion Sauce

Up until this week, pretty much the only thing I had done with my bok choi was a simple stir-fry.  It was mindless, and tasty, and the perfect accompaniment for some miso- or ginger-glazed meat.  This week I decided that it was time to try something new.

I had been looking at the Momofuku recipe for Ginger Scallion sauce since Christmas thinking, “Gosh, that’s super easy,” and “I could totally make that.”  This is as opposed to most of the recipes in the book, which make me think borderline-expletive-laced things like, “Holy crap that’s involved,” and “there’s no way in hell that I would cook that,” and “this dude is effing nuts.”  Anyway, I lent my copy of the book to a girlfriend, who immediately make the Ginger Scallion sauce, and was waxing rhapsodic about it for days.  I decided I had to give it a go.

I made the sauce well in advance of making the pizza to let the flavors marry a bit.  I tasted it from time to time as it sat there, and was sorry to admit that I didn’t love it.  Chang has you all set up to believe that this sauce will definitively shift the way you look at food, and as I sampled it, that just wasn’t happening for me.  It was a bit too aggressively raw for my taste.  Served as an actual condiment though, it mellows somewhat, and looses its edge.  It wasn’t life-changing, but I will almost certainly be making it again.

I’m not going to reprint the Momofuku recipe here: either order the book or google it.  You will definitely want it for this pizza though, which otherwise would be pretty bland.  I served my pizza with a spicy cabbage salad side, also topped with the sauce.

Bok Choi Pizza

1 pizza dough, rolled thin
Hoisin
1 head bok choi, cut into strips and lightly sauteed
1 C cooked chicken
Cilantro

Preheat oven to 425.  Spread a thin layer of hoisin over the dough.  Top with bok choi and chicken and bake for 20 minutes.  Sprinkle fresh cilantro and Ginger scallion sauce over the top.

****UPDATE
As it happens, the sauce did become life changing, but not until it was three days old, and much of the hot rawness had burned off.  Then it was AMAZING.  Either I will have to think far ahead the next time I want some, or I will have to try this.

****UPDATE UPDATE
My friend informs me that my problem with this sauce is that I cut the ginger too big.  She spent three years as a line cook, and so I’m inclined to trust her on this one.  With that said, I’m not sure I have the knife skills to do much better.  If your knife skills are professional grade, make the recipe as written.  Otherwise consider slight modifications as listed above.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in bok choi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

