Swiss Chard Pasta and Grilled Radicchio

I have mentioned before how I love Jack Bishop and his semi-miraculous cookbook A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen: Easy Seasonal Dishes for Family and Friends.  This book has done more to change the way I cook than any other, mostly because Bishop proves beyond a doubt that vegetarian fare can be various, simple, and delicious all at the same time.

Because Bishop is in a CSA, he has a healthy number of chard recipes in the book, which is why I cracked it open again.  After seven straight weeks of chard, I was running out of steam, and needed inspiration.  I found the pasta recipe, which was just the thing.  The only flaw is that in the recipe, he says to discard the chard stems, which feels like a cheat to me.  As a rule, I would prefer to use the whole vegetable.  With that said, I have to find a way to make the CSA work somehow, and hanging on to unreasonably high goals for myself undermines my efforts to put it all together.

As a side, we grilled the radicchio.  It was pretty spectacular.

1 bunch chard, stems removed (and discarded), leaves chopped
1/4 C walnuts, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 C olive oil
1/2 C dried cherries, chopped
salt and pepper

pasta (I had some excellent Farro pasta on hand which I used)

Prepare the pasta according to package directions.

Add walnuts to a dutch oven over medium heat, and toast for 4-5 minutes, shaking the pan occasionally.  Remove walnuts to a plate.

Add oil and garlic to the pan and cook for one minute.  Add chard, stir, and cover the pan.  Saute the chard for five minutes.  Return walnuts to the pan and add cherries.  Season with salt and pepper.  Remove from heat and cover to keep warm.  Serve over pasta.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in radicchio, swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swiss Chard Pasta and Grilled Radicchio

  1. Scrumptious says:

    I like to slice up my chard stems into little bits and throw them into the onion phase of a saute. Your pasta doesn't have an onion phase, and nothing really gets cooked for the amount of time it would take to get them tender… So yes, I guess the stems have to go. Have you thought about saving scraps for scrap stock? I keep them in the freezer so I can let them linger and build up as long as possible. It's a nice no-guilt way to deal with all those stems and other bits. And I love having a freezer packed with homemade stock. I am insanely jealous of your radicchio. It is my very favorite vegetable (I know I say that about a lot of vegetables, all of them bitter). It's so grilled. Man, oh, man. Yum!

  2. I totally need to get good at scrap stock, as you suggest. It's one of the smartest and most efficient ways to use up the remains of the share. I'd love to know any tips or tricks you have for how to make this work best.The radicchio is gorgeous, no question. It's also bizarrely strong, so unless we find that it mellows out considerably as the season progresses, pretty much all of it is going to get cooked!

Leave a Reply

