The Share

The Haul:
Lettuce
Bok Choi
Cabbage (some monster head that looks like it could star in Little Shop of Horrors – I’m sure it tastes great, but it looks dangerous)
Broccoli
Radicchio
Chard
Spring Onions
Carrots
Beets
Turnips
Dill
Cilantro

The Plan:
Spaghetti with Chard and Walnuts, grilled Radiccio
Bok Choi pizza with Momofuku Ginger Scallion Sauce, maybe a side of spicy cabbage (or just dump Ginger Scallion sauce over the whole thing?)
Turnip flan (main dish – despite the failure of the turnip cake, I can’t resist the opportunity to puree turnip into something new), with gargantuan salad, dill dressing
Roast broccoli, spring onions, and carrots as a side dish (x2)
Mashed turnips and potatoes also as a side dish

Probably this will leave some beets and carrots left over at the end of the week.  Also cabbage, if I don’t manage to work it into another side for some unidentified potential main dish.  If I’m going to have something left at the end though, these are pretty good choices, as they are easy to work into muffins or something if I get creative on the baking side of things (except the cabbage, obvs).  If not, they will easily keep until next week.

In other news, my toddler fell asleep on me today, for the first time since he started walking, almost half his lifetime ago.  It would have been sweeter were it not for the cause – a terrible fever which left him extra tired, but otherwise fairly normal.  I couldn’t stop kissing his hot little neck.  With this illness, he’s lost his appetite, which is too bad, because I would have loved to see how he took to the scallion sauce.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

