Meat Pie

I had the idea to make a meat pie this week, inspired by one that my husband makes with chicken and leeks and feta, and another amazing one that some friends brought over for a special occasion.  Meat pie seemed like a perfect and creative way to use up greens etc from the CSA.

My original idea was to use some dark greens, chicken, onion, cheese, dried fruit, and nuts.  When I mentioned it to the friend who had brought the special occasion pie over, she offered to send me the recipe, which I was sad to find was painfully close to what I was already planning.  With that said, I do think that this recipe can be pretty modular.  What you need is to end up with about 8 C finely chopped cooked filling, and that can be accomplished in a number of ways.  Below is what I did, but you should feel free to experiment.  It’s hard to go too far wrong with this concept.  In the future, I may experiment with doing this in individual serving sizes, or making it vegetarian.  I think there’s a lot that can be done with the fruit/nut/cheese/veggie combo.

Meat Pie

2 C cooked chicken
2 onions, chopped small
3 – 4 medium carrots, chopped small
1 large bunch kale, chopped
1/4 C white wine or stock
3 Tsp butter
2 cloves garlic
1/4 C raisins
1/4 C pine nuts
1/2 C rice
1 C feta cheese, chopped
2 eggs
salt and pepper

pate brisee for a covered pie (or use puff pastry)

Preheat oven to 375.  In a large dutch oven, carmelize the onions and carrots.  Add kale along with butter and wine, cover and cook until very soft.  Add garlic.

Meanwhile, add rice and 1 C water to a separate pan and cook according to package directions.

Mix rice, chicken, cheese, raisins, and pine nuts to the kale pot, and season.  Let cool.  Butter a 9″ springform pan.  Roll out pate brisee until it can fill the pan and come all the way up the sides.  Beat the two eggs and pour over the kale mix.  Add the mix to the springform pan, and top with the other sheet of dough.  Pinch the edges together very well (see photo).  Bake for 45 minutes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in chicken, kale. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

