The Share

OK, back to the regularly scheduled CSA postings:


The Haul:
Red Lettuce
2 Bok Choi
Swiss Chard (an enormous bunch with leaves the size of elephant ears)
Kale
Turnips
Carrots
Beets
Garlic
Cilantro
Dill
Edible flowers

The Plan:
Sticky Chicken with Stir-fried Bok Choi
Roast Beets with Chard
Some sort of meat pie w/Kale and Carrots
Main Dish Salad with Cilantro-Grilled Shrimp
Turnip Cake!

This is a super-manageable weekly share, excluding the edible flowers.  Really, I have no idea how people use those things?  I probably will even be able to use up some leftover greens from the previous week, no sweat.  I recycled a few dish ideas as well, since I had the ingredients on hand, and hadn’t gotten to actually using them.  If I was a better CSA member I would work out ways to eat the beet and turnip greens too, but in this regard, I am comfortable with my own failings.  Therefore, this week is easy-peasy. 

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Share

  1. Scrumptious says:

    I love reading about other people's CSA boxes and what they make with them. It has become quite an obsession. I've added you to my blogroll of CSA blogs – I think your commentary and ideas are great!Have you cooked beet greens before? They are basically chard, so you can throw them in any time you make chard and (to my palate at least) you can't tell the difference between them. I like to toss turnip greens in with bok choy and Asian flavors, or else cook them with escarole "Venice style" (the recipe is on my blog). My point here just being that you don't have to do something special with those guys – there usually isn't a large enough bunch for them to stand along anyhow – you can just bulk up one of your other veggie dishes with a few extra greens.Edible flowers… that's a tough one. I mean, throw them in a salad, sure. (Although I tend to find them a bit bitter.) A couple of other tips I've seen but never tried are freezing them in ice cubes for super-fancy party ice cubes and blending them into butter. The bittersweet taste would probably be great with butter. I'll be excited to hear what you end up doing with them! Is your turnip cake like the dim sum turnip cakes? Those are so delicious, and I've never thought to make them at home! I must have the recipe! Have a great week of cooking – it sounds like you have a terrific plan!

  2. Wow, thank you for the great response! I will add you to my blogroll right away.Thanks for the input on the beet greens. I hate to admit this, but I have been in the habit of composting them. The truth is that we get so many beets and chard that it gets to be a bit overwhelming. And those are two of the items that no amount of coaxing will get the kiddos to eat. So adding more to the mix is a tough sell. I'm determined to try though. Composting them makes me feel like a bad CSA member! I'm looking for escarole Venice Style after I post this.I think you will be surprised by the turnip cake. Dim sum would have been a better idea. 🙂

  3. Ooh – Just saw that I already have you on the roll! I meant to thank you for the Rio Gozo link too – that's my CSA.

Leave a Reply

