Asian Soup

We’ve been getting plenty of brassicas in our shares every week, and last week I got hit with the double Asian brassica whammy – 2 bok choi and a gargantuan Chinese cabbage.  I couldn’t face more than one day of stir-fried cabbage in soy sauce, so I decided that the second dish would be soup.

I’ve read Momofuku (see below), so I know how to make a fine Asian stock.  But 8 hours and two animals is a lot of work for broth, so I opted for my own quick and dirty method.  Make up a 2/3 stock to 1/3 water mix.  Dump in some soy sauce, minced ginger and garlic, and a smidge of hot chile sauce (preferably one of those red Asian-style condiments available at pretty much every grocery store these days).  Done.

To this add shredded cabbage and sliced mushrooms, and cook until soft.

I boiled some rice noodles, and defrosted some shredded pork.  I assembled the bowls by adding broth, noodles, meat, pickled carrots and beets, and fresh cilantro as the garnish.  It was so delicious that it was life-changing.  Even the toddler ate it happily.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Chinese cabbage. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Asian Soup

  1. Scrumptious says:

    This sounds phenomenal. You sound like a terrific cook – very comfortable with your flavor profiles and able to take on any vegetable at a moment's notice! Did you pickle your carrots and beets on the spot, quick-pickle style, or did you have some lying around waiting to be used? (If so, I think I am moving in to your kitchen…)

  2. I admit to being relatively new to pickling. I got really inspired by Momofuku though, and had to give it a try. I think the results were excellent, and I plan to keep going!

Leave a Reply

