Kale Mash


Kale is one of those items that I would truly never buy at the Farmer’s Market. Kale recipes are just not a part of my regular routine enough to actively seek bunches out. But, because we are in a CSA, I now get Kale with what I have come to regard as alarming regularity. Generally, I have no clue as to how to make use of it.

This week, I happened upon a kale recipe on Epicurious, that basically calls for you to mash up kale with potatoes. As an aside, I suspect that this technique could work for most difficult vegetables, right? Mash them up with potatoes, butter, and cream, and it would be hard to go too far wrong.
The recipe, as written, would result in a sticky, glue-y mess, so here is the Epicurious with my fixes.
1 Bunch Kale, tough stems removed
3 medium-large potatoes
3 Tbs butter
3 Tbs cream
Steam the kale until soft. Set the potatoes in boiling water and boil until falling apart. Add the kale to a food processor with the cream and process until smooth. Drain the potatoes and add them back to the pot with the kale and the butter. Salt generously. Mash. Serve immediately.
About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in kale. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

