Cleaning out the Freezer Pie


When I get a basket of fresh berries, and I can just see that we are not going to get through them before they turn to mush, I always prep and freeze a bunch for some unknown future use. Using this technique, I had a couple of pounds of frozen berries, with no particular destination in mind, just hanging out in my freezer. Today I decided that a fruit pie for Easter would be just the thing.

My favorite fruit pies have streusel toppings, so I decided to do a blueberry/strawberry/blackberry mix with an almond streusel topping (and whipped cream, but that is after the fact). Fruit pies are so easy to make, that I ‘m always a bit surprised that I don’t make them more often. Of course, adding the streusel complicates matters somewhat. Still, this is a relatively easy recipe and comes together fast.
Either make or buy a single pie crust. I always use the Pate Brisee recipe from The Joy of Cooking, which I really do not believe can be improved upon at all.
For pie:
30 oz frozen berries
3/4 C sugar
1/4 C cornstarch
For Streusel:
1/2 stick butter
1/2 C flour
1/2 C slivered almonds
2 Tbs brown sugar
In a large saucepan mix berries, sugar and cornstarch, and heat until just boiling, and fairly thick. Set aside in the freezer to quickly cool.
Mix streusel ingredients in a food processor and pulse until finely ground.
Preheat oven to 400. Prepare pan with pie crust. Add fruit mix. Using your hands, squeeze the streusel into small balls, and top the pie with the streusel. Bake in the center of the oven for 40 minutes.
About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in blueberry, pie, strawberry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cleaning out the Freezer Pie

  1. Jet says:

    You are awesome and the pie is beautiful. Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

