The Farmer and the Cook

I never really intended for this space to house restaurant reviews. This decision was largely a practical one – with the two small kids, getting to restaurants is rare at best, and when we do, it’s usually pizza and beer or burritos and beer. Beer seems to be the one constant in the restaurants with kids equation. So when my friend Jet invited me to join her for lunch at the Farmer and the Cook in Meiners Oaks last Friday, I leapt at the opportunity.

The Farmer and the Cook is an organic, vegetarian, wheat-free restaurant situated in a town of about 9,000. The odds against its very existence are so great that just being there gave me cognitive dissonance. It is part store, part CSA, part bakery, and part restaurant, and all delicious. We had the squash quesadillas, which came with two sauces – one was Aji, which I will have a recipe for later this week. The other was bright orange, and I have no clue what was in it. I was exactly halfway through the meal before I realized that the squash in the name was the zucchini. I kept searching for some sort of creamed winter squash in there somewhere. I’m actually feeling like creamy winter squash would make an excellent quesadilla somehow, and now I have to figure it out.
Co-owner Steve Sprinkle came out to join us for part of the meal, and I got the chance to ask him about the wheat-free thing. The reason the went wheat-free? They got sick of telling people which items had wheat and which ones didn’t. Apparently, if you are already demanding that your meal be vegetarian and organic, there’s a decent chance that you prefer wheat-free too.
Definitely check this place out, especially for their weekend dinners, which hold their own against some of the best restaurants around. Check them out here.
About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Farmer and the Cook

Leave a Reply

