This Meal is Brought to You by the Color Green


I look to Mark Bittman with some regularity when trying to figure out what to do with the CSA share. This is, in part, because he is so prolific, and usually has dozens of recipes using whatever ingredient is puzzling me. More importantly, however, his recipes call for fresh ingredients.

I had a giant bag of spinach from my weekly share, and it occurred to me to make Cream of Spinach soup. I went on-line to find a suitable recipe, and the first dozen or so hits came up with soups made from frozen spinach souffle or some such. The first fresh recipe I found was Bittman.
I made minor alterations to his recipe, largely because I wanted the soup to be thick enough for the toddler to successfully feed himself.
It was still a mess. That’s bread hanging out of his mouth, BTW.
Cream of Spinach Soup
3 C stock
1 C cream, or half and half
2 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
Bag of spinach
bunch of chard, thick stems removed
pinch nutmeg
parmesan rind (optional)
Set stock and cream over heat and slowly bring to a boil. Add potatoes, greens and nutmeg, and cook until potatoes are very soft. Blend soup.
I keep my old parmesan rinds in the freezer, and use them to thicken soups. If an old rind is something you have around, it would go great in this soup. Otherwise, the soup is delicious on its own.
About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in soup, spinach, swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

