Fast Peanut Sauce


I call this piece “Blurry Noodles.”

Who doesn’t like a good satay sauce? I have a truly excellent recipe, but it involves having some homemade Thai curry paste to hand, adding coconut milk and fish sauce, and practically a whole jar of peanut butter. So it’s a bit too fussy for the weeknight menu. Fortunately, like most of my recipes, I have a quick and dirty version that can’t compete with the original, but managed to truly hit the spot last night. Sorry about the weird formatting. I copied and pasted, and this is what happened, and I’m too lazy to work it out.

Thai Peanut Sauce

juice of one lime

3 Tb soy sauce

1 clove garlic

1¾” piece ginger

2¼ tsp chile paste

7 Tb peanut butter

3 Tb sugar

4½ Tb peanut oil

Dump all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Add water to thin. RE: the 7 tbs peanut butter, I usually just eyeball this, because I’d probably have an anneurism if I had to scrape out 7 spoons of PB. I’ve never had a batch go bad from too much PB.

Also checked off 2 CSA veggies – cabbage and cilantro.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in peanut sauce. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fast Peanut Sauce

  1. Jet says:

    This is a GREAT weeknight solution and it reminds me a little of Tan Tan noodles at that little vegetarian Chinese place on University in Berkeley. No, I do not remember the name. Age has, at last, claimed those brain cells. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

