Mashed Potato Cakes


In utter defiance of logic, my children will not eat mashed potatoes, and it drives me nuts. Not that I’m so terribly interested in getting them hooked on mashed potatoes, but if a starch mixed with butter, cream, and salt isn’t to their liking, well, it feels like there’s nothing I can count on them eating.

I do manage to get them to eat the mashed potato leftovers though, by turning them into neat little potato cakes. Here’s the plan: for every cup of potatoes, mix in an egg, and a healthy Tsp or so of Parmesan. Even my kids prefer real cheese to the green can stuff in this recipe.

On a truly non-stick pan, spoon the potato mix into small cakes (it just will not work if your teflon is not perfect). The only trick is to wait long enough before flipping, because they will tend to crumble. Get a spatula with a very thin end for the best results.

The last time I made these, the toddler had potatoes in every possible crevice on his body. I take that as a generally good thing.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in mashed potatoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

