Beet Sauce


(I promise that this tastes better than it looks. This picture isn’t doing me any favors, I think.)

In my never-ending quest to find more things to do with the bazillion beets that we get through our CSA, I invented beet sauce. Or at least I think I invented it. Let me do a quick Google search….. um, nope.

This is more technique than recipe, so forgive the vagueness. If you want a real recipe, see above. My version of Beet Sauce is best atop sturdy meat – I like it with a good pork chop or tenderloin, but I’d be willing to bet that it would be marvelous on grilled or roasted fennel too. I made a version of this for my husband’s birthday this year, as it dresses up an otherwise simple grilled meal.
2 beets, cooked until soft (roasted is best)
2 Tbs balsamic vinegar
drop vanilla
1 Tbs cream
2 Tbs orange juice
salt and pepper
I know it looks like these quantities are real, but in truth, it’s just my best guess, because when I actually made it I kept tasting and pouring a little more of this or that to make it perfect. The orange juice/balsamic/vanilla combo is dreamy.

Throw all ingredients in a blender and puree until very smooth. Add water or more orange juice to get to the desired consistency. Serve over meat.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in beets. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

