Arroz con Pollo


Every so often I make a recipe that I’m just certain everyone will really love only to find out that pretty much only the adults will eat it willingly. Such was the fate of my gorgeous Arroz con Pollo. But, hey, I had just gotten this beautiful new casserole dish, and I had to do something with it.

My kids are just wrong about this one. This is comfort food of the highest order.

Arroz con Pollo

2 large chicken breasts
lime juice, salt, pepper, garlic, and cumin for the marinade
1 medium onion, chopped fine
2 carrots, chopped fine
1 can corn
1 1/4 C chicken stock

1 14oz can tomatoes
1 1/2 C rice
cumin, paprika
1/2 C frozen peas

grated cheddar cheese

sour cream and salsa for serving

Chop the chicken into pieces, and marinate in the lime juice and spices in the refrigerator for a few hours, tossing occasionally. In a large dutch oven, saute the chicken in a little olive oil until cooked through. Set aside. Saute the onion and carrot until soft, about 5 minutes. Set aside with chicken.

Here’s where you get to be a bit creative. Basically, your goal is to mix 1.5C rice with 3 C liquid. What I used is above, but there’s no reason to stick with what I did. I pulled 3/4 C liquid from the can of corn and mixed it with stock and tomatoes. I might have used some white wine instead of a portion of the stock, or I could have subbed out the tomatoes for 1/2 C salsa and 1/2 C stock. Choose some liquid flavors that go well with chicken and rice, mix it all together with the spices, and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes.

Mix corn, cooked veggies, chicken and half-cooked rice mix in a casserole and stir well. Cover and bake at 350 for 20 minutes. Remove from oven, stir in peas, top with cheese and bake for 5 minutes more, uncovered. This easily serves 8 as written.

I’d love it if one of my vegetarian friends would try this with pinto beans instead of chicken and let me know the results. No need to kill yourself here – just get something already ready to go (maybe even seasoned?) and proceed with the rest. I suspect it would be as good or better.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in chicken, rice. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

