Strawberry Banana Bread


I’ve been wondering how to handle recipes that don’t turn out as wonderfully as expected. Do I post them and warn people not to make them? Do I skip it altogether? Or is there something of value in sharing what doesn’t work and why?

In the hopes that there is some value in my mistakes, here’s my Strawberry Banana bread. We ate the whole loaf (my toddler loved it), so it wasn’t a total loss, but I wouldn’t make it again, or not like that anyway?

My first mistake was forgetting how much I hated banana bread. Like Cranberry Orange bread, I used to make a giant batch of it every week in the bakery. This involved peeling an entire box of bananas, mashing them to a pulp with a giant metal mashing tool, unwrapping about 48 sticks of margarine (not butter, because we were kosher), mixing forever, and then slopping the whole mess from the mixer into a giant trash can on wheels using a small bucket and a spatula, and finally hefting the whole thing into our walk in refrigerator. We would then make bread and muffins from this batter for the next week.

In addition to being a pain in the ass, it smelled terrible. Let me rephrase that – it smelled like every batch of sweet banana bread that you have ever made, but because it was such a pain in the ass, and because I felt like I was making it constantly, I grew to hate the smell.

So I figured that the strawberries would mitigate the banana somewhat and make the whole deal more palatable. In reality, I couldn’t get much past the smell. If I made this again, I would experiment with mashing the banana and strawberry together, and using generally less of the wet stuff so that the bread would rise more like a pumpkin bread, rather than the typical banana loaf. I might also add nuts. In the meantime, this is pretty good.

Banana Strawberry Bread

1 stick butter
1 C sugar
2 eggs
1 C mashed banana (about 2)
1 C flour
1/2 C whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda
1/2 C sliced frozen strawberries

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9″ loaf pan and set aside. Cream butter and sugar until well blended. Add eggs and bananas and mix well. Add dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Blend in strawberries. Bake 50 – 60 minutes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in banana, bread, strawberry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

