Potato Soup


…because Potato Soup is the most comforting comfort food ever…

I think I mentioned that last Wednesday we actually managed to have some folks over. This weekly entertaining resolution is getting increasingly difficult for me, a problem that I blame squarely on the kids. It would be one thing if we only were having close friends over – people who know us and give us a little slack if we, say, can’t complete a thought because we suddenly have to leap across the room to prevent the toddler from pulling the lamp down on top of himself. But the point was to get to know some new people. To deepen some of our passing acquaintances. And that is totally not happening when we can’t complete a thought because, well, you get it.

But so anyway, last week, I made potato soup. It’s a simple recipe, made better for being so simple. Advantages to this recipe are that 1) leftovers freeze beautifully, and 2) kids will eat it. Really, what’s not to like?

Potato Soup

3 Tb butter
1 onion, chopped

6 – 8 potatoes, peeled chopped
1 can corn

3 carrots, chopped
stock or water to cover
1 C milk, half and half, or cream
fresh herbs, you know, cilantro, parsley, sage, dill, whatever you like

In a soup pot, saute the onion in butter. FWIW, this will always be the first instruction in any soup with onion. If you skip sauteeing, no amount of boiling will remove that raw onion flavor, and your soup will become inedible. Cook the onion as long as it takes to peel and chop the potatoes. Throw those in. Dump the whole can of corn and water in too. Add soup or stock. throw in carrots.

Confession time: Here’s where I add water to cover and them throw in a Knorr bullion cube. I know that people find these cubes abhorrent, think they taste bad, are laden with chemicals, you name it. And, yes, they do have MSG in them. But they are so easy, right? I don’t have to keep track of how long the stock has been sitting open in my fridge, I have just the right amount of veggie, chicken, or beef stock exactly when I need it, and they take up almost zero room in the pantry. Until I find out that they are carcinogenic, I’m sticking with Knorr.

When potatoes and carrots are soft, take half the soup and blend in the blender. Pour the blended soup back into the pot to thicken the rest of the soup. If using milk, or half and half, heat first in the microwave, and then add to the pot. Cream can be added right to the soup. Stir in fresh herbs.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in potato, soup. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potato Soup

  1. Tyler says:

    When I don't have fresh stock made up (which is about 75% of the time), I really like the "Better Than Bouillon" bases. I always have the Vegetable base on hand in the fridge, and mixing a teaspoon of the paste with a cup of water is quick, easy and so much better than a cube (and no MSG, of course).

  2. Wow, thanks, Tyler! Good advice. I suppose it's for sale at Rainbow Bridge? 🙂

Leave a Reply

