Garden

My husband, inspired by our friend B, is planting a garden. We have a little raised bed outside our kitchen window, and S took out all the giant plants, amended the soil, divided the space into square feet, and planted little seedlings in a “square foot garden.” (I believe that if you Google that term, you’ll find out what we’ve done.)

We always had gardens growing up. I remember “helping” my mom weed when I was about 6, and getting tired and whiny really fast. I also vividly recall sneaking into my neighbor’s garden with the neighbor kid who had been admonished by his mom not to steal her tomatoes. The way he talked about the tomatoes, I figured they must taste like candy. So we went in and each grabbed a bright red tomato from the vine, and started to eat them like apples. Except that I hated it. I moved on to the sweet peas pretty quickly.

I remember my mom lying to me about zucchini being cucumbers. I remember the prickly feel of the cucumbers, and thinking that they felt like my mom’s legs when she didn’t shave. I remember when the cantaloupes and watermelon got cross pollinated, and we discovered a few strange hybrids on the vines (apparently the cantaloupe has the dominant genes, because they all tasted like cantaloupe).

We’re hoping for some of the same memories for out kids. Check out the beginnings!

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

