Pound Cake!


We skipped an Entertaining Wednesday last week, because I just couldn’t pull it together, and this week, we just barely made it work. We had two of our closest friends over, who insisted on bringing a salad, making everything easier.

About an hour before they were due to arrive, I informed S that I had no plans for dessert. He suggested that we serve Ice Cream with TJ’s mint wafers. That sounded lame to me, so I decided to make a pound cake instead.

A proper pound cake is only 4 ingredients – flour, sugar, eggs and butter – but nobody makes them like that anymore. For starters, any cake that doesn’t have something extra for moisture (sour cream, pudding, applesauce, beets) just ends up tasting dry. My personal preference is the Julia Child version. She adds milk, not too much, and the flavor of the butter stays strong while the cake remains moist.

I didn’t want to commit to an entire bundt pan of cake, so I modified the recipe a bit. Here’s what I made:

Pound Cake

1 stick butter
1 C sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
1/2 C milk
1 1/2 C flour
1 tsp baking powder

Grease a 9″ loaf pan, and preheat oven to 350. Cream butter and sugar. Add milk, eggs, and vanilla and mix well. Add flour and baking soda and mix until just blended. Bake for 40 – 45 minutes.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in cake, pound cake. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

