In Which I try to Make Cakes out of Other Things


So Fried Risotto Cakes were not my strong suit. But somehow, when faced with a couple cups of gelatinous leftover Mac and Cheese, the only thing I could think of to do with it was try to make it into cakes. Apparently I’m a glutton for punishment.

Actually, although it took some tinkering on the fly, in the end they were rather delicious. The kids gobbled them up anyway. What follows is more technique than recipe, so bear with the vagueness.

For about 2 C leftover mac and cheese use:
2 eggs
1/4 C breadcrumbs
2 slices cheese (the kind you would put on a sandwich)

Mash with a potato masher, and then cook in small rounds on a non-stick skillet (look, no oil!), until nicely browned on both sides. Serve immediately.

The wonderful thing about the internet is that if you imagine for a second that you are the first person to come up with a recipe, a quick google search will almost always prove otherwise. So after I made these, I learned that Cheesecake Factory has something similar on the menu. If anyone out there has tried them, I’d love to know how they are.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in macaroni and cheese. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

