Pea Green Pesto


Sometimes, the whole CSA things really kills me – like when you get your fifth (!) bag of pea tendrils in as many weeks and have absolutely no clue how to make them useful. This week, however, I was mixing up a batch of my favorite Arugula Pesto from the seriously incredible Jack Bishop cookbook, A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen, and staring at my greens when it finally dawned on me that pea tendrils would probably make a yummy little pesto too.

A quick aside on A Year in a Vegetarian Kitchen, which I adore: it is one of the best cookbooks EVER. This book has done more to change how I cook than any other. Jack Bishop writes simple recipes, most of which can be completed in 30 minutes or so, and which demonstrate in no uncertain terms that vegetarian main courses can be easy, elegant, and delicious. You won’t ever miss the meat. I have been wanting to send him a fan letter for like 5 years now. Perhaps this will suffice.
So back to the pesto. I used what I had on hand, which involved a few compromises. If I had been feeling more daring, I would have thrown in the whole Meyer lemon as I do for my cake, but since I was desperate to actually make those pea tendrils useful, I went the more conservative route, and zested and juiced it instead. Probably if I had had any mint on hand I would have thrown in a healthy dose of that too, because I think that would have transported the results from excellent to heavenly.
Pea Tendril Pesto
Meyer Lemon, zested and juiced
5 C pea tendrils, cleaned of any buds or flowers
2 T olive oil
1/4 C walnuts
1/4 C peas
salt and pepper
Puree all ingredients in a large food processor. If too thick, add 1/4 C hot water, 1 Tbs at a time until desired consistency.
About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in meyer lemon, pea tendrils. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pea Green Pesto

  1. Can you post the arugula pesto, too?Then…..pray tell, please tell this wanna-be gourmet exactly WHAT to do with it. Toss it in pasta? Smear it on grilled cheese??

  2. kat says:

    How funny that we both made this, love you additions of lemon & walnuts.

Leave a Reply

