Cucumber Vodka


I don’t like to make Christmas presents for people, because I’m generally so terrible at it. Everything I create has the look more of a fourth-grade art class project than Martha Stewart magazine. So it was with some trepidation that I ventured into the realm of infusing my own vodka with the intent of giving it to two of my coworkers for the holidays. But truly, the hardest part of this project was locating appropriate bottles for the final product. Of course, my labels still look pretty amateurish. I’m hoping that after they taste what’s inside, they won’t care.

I remember reading about a vodka tasting where the professional tasters were completely unable to tell the difference between the top shelf stuff and Gordon’s. And this is true, right? Vodka basically tastes like really alcoholic water. The differences are minimal. I personally prefer the infused variety so that I can taste something in it besides the bitterness of my increasing reliance on alcohol. (Too dark?) Last summer, I tried cucumber vodka for the first time, and it was a revelation – not too sweet, not too fruity, just right for a cooling summer drink.

Turns out that making your own infused vodka is rather easy. Here’s the basic recipe:

Bottle vodka
1 – 2 C of whatever fruit or vegetable you want to infuse the vodka with

Mix all ingredients into an airtight container. Stir occasionally. Taste every day or two for strength. After 1 – 2 weeks, strain vodka.

And this all works basically well with only one issue – floaties. I suspect that these professional vodka outfits are adding some sort of high tech flavorings to their vodkas rather than using my method above, because the alcohols are so perfectly colored with no floaties in sight. Mine came out a strange greenish brownish, and I had to run it through a paper towel to remove the sediment. But it tastes like heaven.

Here’s what I do with it:

2 oz cucumber vodka
4 oz tonic
sprig of mint
slice of lime

Come on, you know how to mix a vodka tonic. Be sure to add the mint. You won’t believe how it changes the drink.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in cucumber, vodka. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

