Meyer Lemon and Shrimp Pasta

The thing I love most about the internets is when someone I don’t even know has read something I’ve written and cares enough to comment on it. And fortunately for me, this little feat of magic happens fairly regularly on Twitter. Some time ago, after my Meyer Lemon Cake post, a rep from Duda Fresh Farms contacted me with more Meyer recipes (so helpful!). So I had to try one.
I chose a fascinating Shrimp and Cream sauce recipe, which looked completely normal until you got to the part where you add RAW RADISHES. Seriously. I knew that I had some fancy radishes in my CSA box, so I nabbed the shrimp and set out to make the linguine. When I got home, I discovered that what I had was in fact 2 fancy radishes, and a whole bunch of turnips that looked suspiciously radish-y, but tasted completely turnip-y. Anyway, clearly not enough radish to make the recipe as written. So what could I do? I decided to throw in some pea tendrils instead.
(An aside on pea tendrils. I’ve been getting a healthy sized bag in my CSA box for three weeks running now. I gather that they are highly prized somehow, because at the stand they cost at least double what any other green costs. And yet I know NOTHING to do with them. Even the internet is little help here. In my head, there is some alternate universe where some poor home cook is just dying to get her hands on pea tendrils so she can make one of the forty recipes that she has that call for them.)
I’ve written out the recipe I made below just in case anyone else out there has pea tendrils sitting around going to waste. Meanwhile, could someone out there try the one with radishes, and let me know how it was? I’m dying to know!
8 oz uncooked shrimp (peeled and deveined)
1.5 C pea tendrils, roughly chopped
1 C cream
1/4 C grated Parmesan
1 Meyer lemon, zested and juiced
salt and pepper
rosemary
8 oz linguine
Boil water for linguine, and cook according to package directions. Meanwhile, saute shrimp with EVOO and salt and pepper in a large saute pan for 2 minutes. Add pea tendrils and saute 2 minutes more, or until shrimp is pink. Remove from heat and set aside.
After pasta has finished cooking, add cream and Parmesan to pan, stirring to melt. Add lemon juice and zest, stirring constantly. Add salt, pepper and rosemary. Add pea tendrils and shrimp to sauce and heat through. Serve over linguine.
Serves four.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in linguine, meyer lemon, pea tendrils, shrimp. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meyer Lemon and Shrimp Pasta

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi Christina,I am new to your blog. I just stumbled upon it tonight while on Facebook…I am a "fan" of DUDA Farm Fresh Foods and those folks posted a link of this particular modified recipe. Anyway, love your blog…your sense of humor is fabulous and while I haven't had a chance to try your recipes, they sound delish! Fortunately for me, my Aunt has a Meyer Lemon tree which is always loaded with these wonderful lemons…I will try the recipe with the radishes and let you know.Happy Holidays,Molly

  2. Molly – Thank you for the positive feedback! I'm so glad that you stumbled on this space. (And I didn't realize that Duda was on FB – I'll have to check that out!)Seriously, what is it about Meyers? I remember that tasting my first one was a revelation. I feel like they are magic in any dish. I'm curious to try some of Duda's other Meyer recipes – there aren't that many out there! I'll certainly post about it if I do.I hope you have wonderful holidays!

Leave a Reply

