Perfectly Adequate Soup


I made sweet potato and swiss chard soup last night, and it was just fine. Is there anyone out there who just really thinks that swiss chard is the greatest thing? Like you get to the end of a hard day and think, “gee, a quick swiss chard and onion saute would really hit the spot right now.” Anyone? No? Ok, me neither. I’ve made a few recipes where I thought that the chard was decent enough, but never anything to get excited about.

Last night was no exception. I got home to rediscover an enormous bunch of chard slowly wilting in my refrigerator, most certainly on its way out, and so I whisked it into the aforementioned soup. Sam ate it gamely, but I found myself wishing for something altogether different, and preferably far less healthy. It was a nice break from my usual chard recipe though, which I call “Vegetables on top of Other Vegetables” and features roasted beets and goat cheese over sauteed chard and onions.

What would be a really delicious way to do chard? Maybe with a lot of garlic and ginger and sesame? Or maybe with some dried fruits and cheese on a pizza or in a tart? Anyone with a chard recipe that they actually look forward to making, please respond in the comments.

In the meantime, here’s how to make my –

Perfectly Adequate Soup

1 onion
1 bunch swiss chard, stems removed and leaves chopped
2 – 3 sweet potatoes (depending on size), peeled and chopped into dice
2 cloves garlic, crushed
vegetable stock
1 C evaporated milk

Chop the onion and saute in olive oil until soft. Add garlic and saute for one minute more. Add potatoes, milk, and stock to the pot.

(I never really measure stock, so I don’t know what I added here – maybe 6 cups? Really, you want enough to cover the potatoes and then a bit more. You’ll know when you get there.)

Bring to a boil, and simmer until potatoes are starting to get soft. Add chard and simmer five minutes more.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in onion, soup, sweet potato, swiss chard. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Perfectly Adequate Soup

  1. Nathan D says:

    Secret to all greens: cook them in bacon fat.

  2. We're getting about five bags in each CSA box! Could be a fattening winter that way….

  3. Molly says:

    Christiana: We really like chard with legumes of some sort–we just made a lentil minestrone soup with fresh chard and pasta that is excellent.

  4. Molly – I should have guesses that the seasoned vegetarian would have some good chard recipes! It's so darned healthy that I want to use it. I like the lentils idea – maybe I'll need to experiment some more?

  5. Hilary says:

    One of my favorite swiss chard recipes, so far, is a leek and swiss chard tart using puff pastry for the crust. While the flavors are fairly simple–the only seasonings are salt, pepper, thyme and a pinch of nutmeg–the creaminess of the custard and the sweetness of the sauteed leeks complement the slight bitterness of the chard perfectly. The recipe is originally from Bon Appetit, but you can currently find it on the Epicurious website.

Leave a Reply

