On Blogging and Squash

Hi friends. Thanks for checking this out! This space is going to be the home for my recipes, thoughts on food and food writers, and my experimental musings about my former life as a bakery owner. Probably it will also contain the occasional rant about motherhood, health care, or some such, as well as other random oddities from my life.

Why am I writing a blog? The simple answer is that I want to spend more time writing. And eventually, it would be nice if I got paid to do it. Since the only way to get paid to write is to prove that people care about what you have to say, here I am trying to do just that. I thank you for following this blog. As I start to build content, I would greatly appreciate your sharing my posts with people who you think might also be interested!

OK, that should do for the introduction. Let’s move on to the good stuff – recipes.

So in our CSA box lately has been an awful lot of winter squash. I can deal with the random butternut or acorn, but we were getting one of each of those as well as a kaboucha and a pumpkin weekly. After weeks of pureed squash soup, it finally occured to me that to successfully consume it all, I was going to have to branch out into breakfast and dessert. And so Squash and Apple bread was born. I suppose you could serve it with whipped cream, or cream cheese frosting and call it dessert, but I prefer it for breakfast with hot coffee.

Squash and Apple Bread
Makes 1 loaf

1 C Flour
1 C Whole Wheat Flour
1 Tbs. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Cinnamon
Pinch of Salt
1 C Roasted Squash, mashed
1 C Brown Sugar
1/2 C Sugar
2 Eggs
1/3 C Oil
1/2 C grated Apple, drained

Preheat oven to 350.

In a large bowl, mix eggs, oil, and sugars until thoroughly mixed. Add squash and incorporate. Mix in dry ingredients until just blended. Add apple.

Grease a 9 x 5 loaf pan and pour in batter. Bake for 55 – 65 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

(Note: We have an apple tree in our yard, and I get these lovely little apples off it, which give me almost exactly 1/2 cup grated apple. If the apple part of this recipe seems like too much work to you, simply omit the apple and increase the oil to 1/2 C. This bread is also delicious with the addition of raisins, walnuts, or dried cranberries.)

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in bread, food, squash. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Blogging and Squash

  1. Gina says:

    Congrats on the 1st entry!

  2. DrAdinaNack says:

    Fun first post šŸ™‚ I'd love to read a post from you about Omnivore's Dilemma. Also, if you add a blog roll, please consider girlwithpen.com and shewrites.com

  3. Um, yum! Kyndra would raise her eyebrows (brand alignment and all), but would you put a get born avatar on your site? I'm more than happy to figure out how to whore out my little mag to whoever's willing.

  4. Stephen says:

    Oh. My. Lord. Does that sound awesome! This sounds like the kind of recipe that I could get Claire to galumph down on her hectic way out the door in the morning. Delish! Way to blog, little friend! I'm very excited for you. In the meantime, if you DO add a blog roll, I expect there to be an accompanying recipe called "Blog Rolls." Love you. Love to the hubby and muffins. – Steve.

  5. Catherine says:

    Sounds delicious, Christiana. I can't wait to try it (and am sure that the people at the office will be glad too!).Hope that all of you are doing well!

  6. steve says:

    Congrats on entering the blogosphere! The recipies sound simply delicious. Peace, my friend.

Leave a Reply

