Massa Organics

Last weekend, Sam spent several days at the Ethics of Eating Conference, held by the ELCA in Davis CA. The conference included talks and papers, as well as trips to various farms in the area that were practicing sustainable agriculture. One of the highlights was a trip to Massa Organics. Sam returned home with a bag of gorgeous brown rice.

If Sam and the website are to be believed, Massa Organics is just overwhelmingly, hyperbolically wonderful. They make great products, they are continually expanding their organic operations, they built a gorgeous house out of straw bales, and they are active foster (adoptive?) parents. I honestly don’t even understand how they do it. It’s like the very definition of integrity and love.

Recently, I’ve been considering ways to introduce more whole grains into our diet, thanks to a book that I am currently reading, Fat Chance, by Dr. Robert Lustig. I will write more about this book in the future, but the short review is this: it is hands-down the most readable yet comprehensive text on whole-body health that I have ever seen (honestly, I don’t think others authors are even trying to synthesize information the way Lustig is). In part of the book, he makes the case for dietary fiber, and while we get loads from all our fresh veggies, I have been cooking refined grains with them. According to Lustig, I could do better by turning to whole grains. That Sam showed up with a bag of rice from an awesome farm was fortuitous.

I know I should feel otherwise, but I have never been a huge fan of brown rice, or really any whole grains at all for that matter. Regardless, I was committed to trying again. I made the rice with some white fish and a quick parsley/caper/lemon topping (recipe below). Truly, it was great. Even the kids ate the rice (though not much – we’re working on it). Leftovers came with me to work a couple days later, and I was happy to find that lunch was extra filling and sustaining. My hope is to work at least a cup of brown rice into our dinners each week.

To get your own brown rice, you can order directly from the Massa Organics website. Of course you can get a 2 pound bag, but really, you may as well order the 20# bag and just commit. The rice is excellent, and you will be happy you took the plunge!

Parsley Salsa for Fish

  • 1 C chopped parsley
  • 1/4 C Olive Oil
  • 1 anchovy fillet
  • lemon
  • 2 Tbs capers
  • Pepper

In a medium bowl, mash the anchovy into the oil until it is mostly dissolved. Grate lemon zest and add it to the bowl along with the juice from the lemon. Stir in parsley and capers, and season with pepper. Taste and add salt, if needed. Serve over grilled white fish with a side of brown rice and your favorite salad.

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in brown rice, parsley. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Massa Organics

  1. William L Wilson says:

    I just “picked up” an electronic copy of Lustig’s book. I have seen some of the videos on obesity that UC have put out where he speaks, and I watched his long “sugar is poison” lecture from a few years ago that started the discussion. So far I like what he says, and it seems to correspond to the thinking of Sugar Busters, South Beach, etc.

    If you haven’t seen the YouTube video series “The Skinny on Obesity” you really should. They run six to ten minutes each, so you don’t have to commit a whole hour or more in one sitting.

    Oh yeah–from the customer’s perspective, I didn’t think your bakery was ever chaotic. :-)

  2. Tammy says:

    Mmmm. I do like whole grains and use them as the base of many meals. Love the recipe for your parsley salsa too. The conference that you attended sounds very cool.

Leave a Reply

