The Haul

Boy, it’s been a while since I posted a haul, hasn’t it? I think this is because we had moved from the giant share down to a smaller version, and honestly, if you are at all committed to eating veggies, a half share is just NBD. But last week, somehow we got a giant one, and now I suddenly need to make all sorts of plans.

The Haul

  • Carrots
  • Beets
  • French Breakfast Radishes
  • Celery
  • Leeks
  • Fennel
  • Bok Choi
  • Arugula
  • Spinach (just a metric ton)
  • Lettuce
  • Cilantro
  • Parsley
  • Oranges
  • Avocados

Previously, we had gotten persimmons, and so I have just recently made this James Beard (via David Liebowitz) recipe for Persimmon Bread.  It’s great, but whoa is the whiskey prominent. Use caution if you think you are making it for kids. Also, it photographed like hell, so all you get is this helpful link.

The Plan

Carrot and Beet (and fennel?) salad – I’m considering getting all creative with this one and maybe making an Ottolenghi inspired grain salad with some of these guys.

Creamed spinach and salmon – Got my hands on some salmon that a friend personally caught in Alaska, and will serve it with creamed spinach. Anticipating total walk-out from the kids this day, regardless of whether I go for the full-fat Pioneer Woman spinach recipe, or the more penitential Martha Stewart version. Would it be too terrible to put leeks in creamed spinach rather than onion? Two birds and etc?

Mallman Chimichurri – to freeze and then serve with grilled beef and rice some time when we want to dazzle our dinner guests

Ottolenghi salad with Radishes and Avocado – this still leaves me with 5 (!) avocados to manage, but I’m sure I’ll come up with something.

 

About christianathomas

I'm a working mother of two trying to make eating well fit into our hectic lives. I also used to own a completely chaotic bakery. Follow me for tips and tricks on how to get more whole foods into your diet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Haul

  1. tyler93023 says:

    I love cooking with leeks and fennel. They both bake up so nice. Maybe with a roasted chicken?

Leave a Reply

